top of page

Group News

Congrats Julie and Kaitlyn on a beautiful Np(V) complex in Nat. Chem.

May, 2024

Congrats to our newest Dr. Andrew Boggiano!

April, 2024

Way to go Haruko, Andrew, & Kaitlyn on your latest work making Ce alkyl and benzyl compounds in JACS

April, 2024

Congrats Andrew, Max, & Ningxin on your latest work on Ln binding patterns in IC

March, 2024

Check out Michael & Thaige's great work showing IVCT in molecular Yb in JACS

February, 2024

Welcome to the group, Tyler-Rayne!

November, 2023

Go read Andrew's awesome work on Ce³⁺ structural distortion in Chem. Sci.

September, 2023

Congrats to Julie on becoming the group's first research scientist!

August, 2023

Welcome to our new postdoc, Max!

August, 2023

Arun has been busy, go read more awesome science from him in JACS

August, 2023

Nice collaboration Ningxin and Arun on sulfur K-edge XAS in Chem. Commun.

July, 2023

Welcome to the group, Ben!

July, 2023

Go take a peak at the group's first transuranic paper in Angew. Chem.

June, 2023

Welcome to our newest group member, Florian!

June, 2023

Check out Arun's cool Pr paper in Nat. Commun.

May, 2023

Congrats to Kaitlyn on advancing to candidacy!

April, 2023

Congrats to our newest Dr. Arun Ramanathan! Good luck at Columbia.

April, 2023

Go check out Ningxin's newest paper on exchange-coupled lanthanide ions in Chem. Sci.

Congrats to Grant on advancing to candidacy! 

March, 2023

Go check out Julie's valiant battle against crystallographic disorder in Inorg. Chem.

Check out Arun's preprint showing Pr4+ better resembles high-valent actinides than lanthanides on arXiv.

Congrats to Ningxin on his latest paper on titanium Kagome-lattice in JACS

December, 2022

Check out our latest publication on dioxygen cleavage by U4+ in Chem. Commun. 

November, 2022

Tiffany advances to candidacy!

July, 2022

Congrats to our undergrad Ryan on completing his B.S.! Good luck at Stanford.

May, 2022

Haruko advances to candidacy! 

April, 2022

Check out our latest publication on Pr4+ in Dalton Trans. 

April, 2022

Henry is promoted to Associate Professor with tenure! Congrats!

March, 2022

Michael joins the group as a postdoctoral researcher. Welcome!

January, 2022

Ningxin successfully defended his thesis! Congrats Ningxin! 

December, 2021

Thaige successfully defended his thesis, congratulations! 

October, 2021

Kate & Grant join the group as first year graduate students, welcome! 

September, 2021

Luis successfully defended his thesis! Congratulations!  

August, 2021

Check out our most recent work in Inorganic Chemistry and Chemical Communication. Congratulations, Thaige and Luis!

June 14th, 2021

Natalie successfully defended her thesis today and became the 1st Ph.D. from the La Pierre group! Congratulations, Dr. Rice! 

April 16th, 2021

Congratulations to Arun for his works on Na2LnO3! Check them out in Inorganic Chemistry and Physical Review B!

March 13, 2021

Haruko and Tiffany join the group. Welcome!

December 1, 2020

Check out our preprint on Na2PrO3 on arXiv! Congratulations, Arun!

October 13, 2020

Luis's paper has been accepted Dalton Transaction. Congratulations!

October 13, 2020

Ningxin's work on (CH3NH3)2NaV3F12 is online now. Congratulations!

October 1, 2020

Our work on a d1 kagome lattice antiferromagnet is published in Nature Chemistry!

June 29, 2020

Julie joins the group as a post-doctoral associate! Welcome!

June 1, 2020

Check out our latest review article on tetravalent lanthanide in Dalton Transaction!

May 20, 2020

Natalie's paper was accepted by Chemical Science. Congratulations!

May 16, 2020

Check out our new paper​ in JACS. Congratulations, Natalie!

April 4, 2020

Luis's paper has been accepted by Dalton Transaction. Congratulations!

March 31, 2020

Thaige's paper is online now. Congrats! Check it here!

November 13, 2019

Check out our preprint on a d1 kagome lattice antiferromagnet on ChemRxiv. Read it here.

September 5, 2019

Ningxin's paper is accepted in Inorganic Chemistry! Check it out here!

August 28, 2019

Andrew joins the group. Welcome!

August 15, 2019

Our fourth paper has been accepted by JACS! Good job, Natalie! Read it here!

July 29, 2019

Congratulations to Luis, who has been awarded Conacyt scholarship!

July 28, 2019 

The third paper this year is online now! Congratulations, Ningxin! Check it here!

July 15, 2019

Our second paper is online now! Congratulations, Thaige! Read it here

April 29, 2019

Arun advances to candidacy!

April 26, 2019

Pete, Thaige, Natalie, and Ningxin present their work at the 2019 ACS National Meeting! Good job!

April 4, 2019

The first paper in La Pierre group was just accepted! Congratulations, Natalie! Read it here!

April 3, 2019


Kai joins the group as a post-doctoral associate!

October 1, 2018


Natalie, Thaige, and Ningxin present their work at the annual department retreat. Good work!

October 29-30, 2018


It is official now: the DOE Heavy Element Chemistry Program will support the La Pierre Group for our "Molecular Approaches to the Electronic Structure of Actinide Materials" research program!

September 13, 2018


Brandon advances to candidacy!

September 1, 2018


Dominic and Mike leave for grad school - good luck!

August 15, 2018


Luis advances to candidacy!

August 1, 2018

May is quite a busy month - Pete was also awarded an ORAU: Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award!

May 31, 2018


Pete is named a Beckman Young Investigator!

See also:

May 29, 2018


Pete was awarded an ACS-PRF DNI Award! Thank you ACS-PRF.

May 23, 2018


Ningxin passes his candidacy exam!

April 19, 2018


Natalie advances to candidacy! Congratulations!

April 2, 2018


Check out the La Pierre group at ACS! Pete will be giving a talk on Weds., March 21 at 2:10 pm at the Ernest N. Memorial Convention Center, Room 352 (INORG 1142) on weak field ligands in f-element chemistry.

February 20, 2018


Arun, Mike, and Tilak join the group!

January 8, 2018


Kirsten graduates! Congratulations!

December 15, 2017


Thaige advances to candidacy!

September 14, 2017


Ningxin joins the group!

July 1, 2017


Mike has been awarded an ACS/DoE fellowship for the 2017 Summer School in Nuclear and Radiochemistry at Brookhaven National Lab. Congrats Mike!

March 14, 2017


Kirsten has been awarded an ACS/DoE fellowship for the 2017 Summer School in Nuclear and Radiochemistry at San Jose State University. Congrats Kirsten!

March 14, 2017


Lab renovations are completed!

January 26, 2017


Dominic joins the group!

January 9, 2017


Brandon, Kirsten, Luis, Natalie, and Thaige join the group!

October 1, 2016


The La Pierre Research Group starts at Georgia Tech today!

August 1, 2016


The lab design is completed!

May 19, 2016

bottom of page